Redhead Practice

A small portrait practice, inspired by all those amazing artists who draw beautiful people… it is so frustrating, no matter how many tutorials I read or watch, I just can’t achieve this smooth and nice and clean look. I tried to not use the smudge tool this time, since I always read it is better to just use low opacity brushes and the eyedropper tool. But I just can’t get it right, no matter which program I use! Either the brush strokes are to strong, and I don’t get smooth blending colors, or I have to go 5000 times over the same piece of skin and ruin my tablet pen in the meantime. Am I just too clumsy to use the right pressure?
Apart from that, I really should practice using better skin tones – it always looks brown or dirty when deepening the shadows.
As you can see, I’m really art-depressed again, I feel as if I’m just unable to improve…

Since I just wanted to practice, I had no real concept in mind – were it not a female with long ears, I’d almost say it is Kvothe from The Kingkiller Chronicle. One day, when I learnt to draw males, I will definitely have to paint him!
Anyway, I’m working on something bigger at the moment, so stay tuned!

It is done mostly with Photoline32 and some adjustments and effects in Pixelmator. I must say, I really fell in love with Pixelmator lately, it is just so incredibly annoying at times that it lacks some crucial funcions, like a smudge tool, or setting the pen pressure to opacity. This makes it perfect for my environment practices, since the brushes and making custom brushes just feels like pure awesomness, but very difficult for drawing people and more defined things. Maybe this is just a matter of practice as well.

Loosely referenced from beautiful Reine-Haru, took me about 3 hours. Click for bigger size!

Leave a Reply

