Environment concepts

A very small update for now, I hope I’ll have more time to draw and paint next week. Experimenting with environments again, especially trying to play with mood, atmosphere and scale this time. I tried to pay attention to my weaknesses in those areas, after figuring out some things I seem to repeatedly do wrong. My better half helped me figure them out, after I forced him to look at hundreds of environment paintings I admire… he actually can be quite helpful, if he just wants to! ;)

I think I must get bolder with colors, and avoid that muddy look…

8 thoughts on “Environment concepts

  1. Both are very nice!

    But since I watched that tutorial I can’t look at pictures unprepossessed. I see the rhythm, the economy, the variety within the repetition. Balance? Seems so, because it looks good, but there is no 60/30/10 ratio in the first picture. Mood wise it looks good :)

    • Oh, you’re right. I guess I should watch some videos again myself (or have a look at my notes). But I must confess, I didn’t plan out the composition very well, apart from knowing that I want some stuff in the distance. So many things to consider at the same time!

  2. I personally prefer pictures on either end of two extremes: the environments have to be so simple as to border on the abstract (see http://www.flickr.com/photos/k-aco/6325059228/in/faves-focx/ or http://www.flickr.com/photos/14380877@N05/6549518845/in/faves-focx/ ) or complex enough to keep my attention for more than 5 seconds, giving me stuff to explore (see http://www.flickr.com/photos/chrischarlesworthphotography/6669393111/in/faves-focx/ or http://www.tumblr.com/photo/1280/janurschel/13592128683/1/tumblr_lvj8yaOyrV1r24wq8 or http://cynocephalus.com/index.html ) – telling stories, essentially.

    As you can see, both bright and subdued colours or black and white works for me. The complex ones are probably more work, but a really excellent simple on is probably more difficult to pull off :)

    • True enough – that’s actually something else I realized with environmental paintings, they often seem to compress much more story and detail into one image than it would be in real life. So while a single mountain in real life might look nice, it is often boring when painted, if no additional adjustments are made (like change to a very special daytime, or add more points of interest). I’m just really struggling a lot with adding more details/stuff/points of interest to my images without losing the “huge scale” feeling.

      I’m not sure how comparable paintings (especially speedpaintings) are with photography though, concerning the simple ones – while they might not be overly crowded with different objects, the photographs still have lots of detail in color and pattern – quite hard to achieve with painting, or let’s say one really has to know his craft ;)

      But hey, at least I started paying attention to atmospheric effects!
      Thanks for commenting :)

      • That’s why I threw in Jan’s paintings, not just photography ;)

        But it’s actually just as hard to get really good landscape pictures, that’s why the hardcore landscape photogs are out there before dawn – with painting you can paint all the special daytime and points of interest you want, with photography you have to be out there! ;)

        • Yeah – he’s beyond awesome anyway ;)

          I didn’t mean to disregard the challenge of shooting good (simple) landscape photos – just emphasize the difficulty of painting them :p

  3. It is strange: Though I like the fist picture more, the second has something which keeps me coming back. It is not detail like in Jan’s painting, but the irritation not to know, what that sphere is, what the bars have for function. So the unidentificable, the mysterious might be a reason also why somebody who looks at the pic stays for a while.

  4. Liking the scale of the second piece a lot. I also like how the objects aren’t fully revealed lending a bit of mystery.

Leave a Reply

