Sketchdump #306 – Material Study (Mudstone)

Mudstones. They are interesting in color because they are layered in a way that allows different sides of a rock to have different colors (and nice colors in general, but very subtly so).
Rocks are so interesting. I could spend a week or more just educating myself about the basics of different kinds of rocks and their formation and properties. Then a week of different ways they get eroded by wind and weather. And while I’m doing that, discovering even more things I get curious about. Sadly this is too big a field to fit in my daily study. But I’m gonna learn more about the world anyway, one pebble at a time :D

That’s one of the things I love most about my job. I get to study and learn all sorts of things, and this is something that will never stop. The more knowledge the better, understanding how things work leads to better designs (and on the side, makes me a more appreciative and humble person). A task for a lifetime – or multiple lifetimes!

 

Leave a Reply

