Sketchdump #312 – Material Study (mossy rocks)

Mossy Rocks!!! <3

Subjects like this one (and many others) always require me to find a good balance. Mixer Brush & Smudge (with some planning and thinking) give me good but rough results very fast. If I use them too much, it becomes too blurry and muddy for my taste, so I switch to regular painting on top to get that hand-painted feel back. That part is super time consuming though and I have no shortcuts or trick (if not using photos). I am still trying to find that balance between speed and nice, „finished“ look. I think using higher opacity brushes with confidence might be one important puzzle piece for solving this mysterious quest.

PS. I love moss!

Leave a Reply

